1. Help Center
  2. Users & Permissions

What are the different User Roles?

In ContractSafe, you can quickly and easily control access to information.  

Typically you’ll set a Role when you invite a new User.  If you want to change a User’s Role, you can always bring up the User dialog box by clicking on Settings, and then the “Users” button.

To assign or change a Role, click on the pull-down button next to their name and select the appropriate Role.

There are six Roles in ContractSafe:

Account Owner:  This is an Admin, but the one who is on record with ContractSafe as the actual owner of the account.  This should be the primary contact for your ContractSafe account.  The Account Owner has all of the rights of an Admin, but can also download and backup all of your files and data.

Admin:  An Admin can create new users for your account, and change the settings for existing users.  They have access to all of your files stored in ContractSafe and can customize ContractSafe for your team, including Folders, Tags, Custom Fields and Views.

Account Manager: An Account Manager can create new users, change settings for users, and customize the setup of ContractSafe.  However unlike a full Admin, the Account Manager's access to contracts can be restricted.

Standard:  Standard users can add contracts, input or edit information and delete contracts.  However, Standard users can only access the Folders or Tags of contracts they have been given access to.   Standard users also cannot invite other users or change settings like Folders, Tags and Custom Fields. While they can create Saved Views and reports, they are unable to share Views. 

No-Delete:  No-Delete users are the same as Standard, with the exception that they cannot delete any contracts.  They can still add new contracts and enter or edit information, and they also only have access to the Folders or Tags they have been approved for. While they can create Saved Views and reports, they are unable to share Views. 

Read-Only:  Read-Only users can see information about contracts, and access full contracts in ContractSafe, but they cannot add contracts, enter any information, or delete contracts.  They will only have access to the Folders or Tags of documents identified in their Permissions. While they can create Saved Views and reports, they are unable to share Views.